still here!

Hi (if there’s still anyone out there reading my blog) — long time, no post!

Life has been busy and eventful. On March 17, WM took two weeks long service leave — we just needed to get away. We put mum into residential respite for two weeks then went to the state of Victoria for the Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show. We had forgotten just how far it was to Melbourne and how long it would take us to drive the 880 kilometres (550 miles)! Just as well we had allowed two days for the journeys there and back.

blended native and exotic garden
blended native and exotic garden
more formal garden
more formal garden
Exhibition Building
Exhibition Building
floral arrangement
floral arrangement
cottage garden
cottage garden

We were home for 36 hours, then we caught a train north to spend the Easter weekend with DD and the family.

YG Easter Egg Hunt 2
YG Easter Egg Hunt 2
YG enjoys the Easter Egg Hunt
YG enjoys the Easter Egg Hunt
OG enjoys the Easter Egg Hunt
OG enjoys the Easter Egg Hunt
OG Easter Egg Hunt
OG Easter Egg Hunt
How many so far?
How many so far?

We picked mum up from respite on 31 March — she was very unhappy and had all sorts of tales of woe to share. Despite having DD and the Grandboys here to visit for ten days from 10 April, she never got any better.  It was with a thankful heart that I received the offer of a room in a dementia-specific facility nearby on 13 April. Mum went to live there permanently on 21 April; WM and I have spent the last four weeks getting to know each other again and work out our life as “Darby and Joan“! Mum was with us for a bit over thirteen months; caring for her was one of the hardest things that we have ever had to do!

While mum was still living here and after she left, I continued to sew quilts for the Caring Hearts Community Quilters group; we make quilts that mostly go to the palliative care wards of local hospitals. I will write a separate post about those because I have too much to say here!

Since mum left, I have had time to knit something other than ‘her’ blankets, so I have been making hats for the under-privileged. The opportunity to donate the hats came sooner than I was expecting so I didn’t end up taking photos of any of them! The last collaborative blanket that mum and I made is in her room at the aged care home but sadly she never uses it!

I plan to be back soon with more photos of our trips to Melbourne. I also have at least two posts planned to talk about my quilting.

I leave you with Older Grandson’s first school photo: he looks much older than six (although those baby teeth give it away)! Most schools in Australia have a school uniform — that shirt almost gets lost against the background which makes his face the focal point (as it should be)!

Older Grandson first school photo
Older Grandson’s first school photo

Until my next post, may your stitches bring you much joy.
Lynne

6 thoughts on “still here!

  1. Got your note about your Mom…..you did the best for her as long as you could. Glad you are taking time to adjust and discover a new routine. So I am still reading, never fear.

    Like

  2. Having been through caring for an elderly mother with dementia and having to put her in a care facility finally and totally against her wishes, I understand how difficult this all must have been for you. I pray regularly that I won’t either get dementia or cause my children angst, but I imagine both will happen.

    Like

  3. Oh, Lynne, it is so good to have you post on your blog and share how hard your road has been lately! Sending hugs and looking forward to more posts showing almost normal life again! Think of you and pray often! Your grandsons are so handsome! What treasures!

    Like

  4. Life has a way of making us focus on just a few things sometimes. Looks like you’ve had some fun travels in the last few weeks. Glad you found a place for your mother. Hopefully all parties will be better for the change. I really enjoyed the poems about Darby and Joan. We’ll be empty nesters in another year and I fear we will be in the same boat as you and your “Darby”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

